Reflections on Black Friday

Every year, millions of people wake up at unheard of hours the day after Thanksgiving to take advantage of all the deals stores offer the day after Thanksgiving.  The mere idea of being near any shopping center today, stresses me out. Don’t get me wrong, I like shopping, I just don’t need it to be an extreme sport to have fun.

That, and when I think of Thanksgiving weekend, I don’t think of it as a weekend to go shopping. What I’d rather do is spend time with my family, take time to realize what I’m thankful for, reflect on the changing seasons and have a little R&R.

It’s usually about this time of year that I start to feel conflicted about stuff I have and stuff I want.  I’m not against consumerism and all it’s wonders. However, I do feel that as a society we have a problem with accumulating too much stuff. Sometimes, I wonder if we really reflect on what we’re getting, where it comes from and how it fits into our lives. Does all this stuff really make us happier people?

So today, I’m going to go to a park, spend some time with family, pick up a book from the library and maybe visit a museum. What are you going to do?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

