A Tom Waits Thanksgiving

Real Gone

For some reason my waking urge this morning was to have an extended listen to Tom Waits live bootlegs. There’s something about the closing in of the cold and the onset of winter that screams out to me to give Tom some time. I lose myself especially in his live stuff because it evokes such splendorous imagery. In my mind I imagine a lounge setting in which he plays to a coincidental and fine dining crowd, with rich cigar smoke hanging heavy in the air. Thinking about it though this seems highly unlikely due to the lyrical content of many of the songs, I can hardly imagine many unsuspecting diners being on board with it. I stand to be corrected, but the nature of the faux-live Nighthawks at the Diner leaves me skeptical.



There’s always a strange compulsion for me when it comes to Tom Waits. His music always leads me to wish my wish life was grittier. It makes me want to reach out for vice and smoke, drink and carouse whilst wearing the finest hats and in the most decadent manner I can muster. I want to wear down my vocal chords, be quick-witted and charming in a slow, smooth and ultimately affable way. It is almost always fleeting, but it may inform many of my more outlandish hat and clothing purchases.



I’m thankful for a lot of real things, don’t get me wrong, but right now I’m thankful for the musical voracity of Mr. Thomas Alan Waits, the invention of recorded music and my privilege in being in a financial, physical and temporal position to consume same. A lot of those things extend to being thankful for other things, so in a very real way this is implicitly one of those typical, cheesy ‘I am thankful for…’ posts. I have to be OK with that, and it’s fine.



I’m going to go and buy Small Change, Blue Valentine, and maybe The National‘s special edition release of High Violet. Oh, and some kind of food to eat for Thanksgiving. So Everyday Music, Sonic Boom and QFC, I’m relying on you for my mental balance this morning.



A Christmas Card From a Hooker in Minneapolis:



Tom co-starring in an episode of seminal Lounge Lizard John Lurie’s epic series ‘Fishing With John‘:*




Have a thoroughly opulent day all ye who grace these pages, and enjoy these snippets of Tom Waits related media I’ve provided.





*I have the DVD if anyone is interested in the Fishing prowess of Jim Jarmusch, Tom Waits, Matt Dillon, Willem Dafoe, Dennis Hopper and of course the inimitable John Lurie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Tom Waits Thanksgiving

  1. seattlerik says:

    I remember a few episodes of Fishing with John when it ran on IFC, or was it Bravo?

    Small Change era Tom Waits on Fernwood Tonight

Leave a Reply

